Co-Sleeping? No…She Sneaks In

Emily sees no reason to have her own bed. I’m sure of it. Occasionally she tries to fake us out by saying, “I want to go to my bed now.” We look at each other, shrug, tuck her into her bed and go to sleep comfortable and with ample room. It doesn’t last. Somehow she ends up in our bed.

Perhaps I’m just too tired to care. Mostly I just like to blame it on my hubby who says, “She won’t want to sleep in our bed forever, you know.”

However it happens, what follows is an example of how I am usually awakened…

“NO! NO! That’s MY CANDY [insert name of parent or friend or family member here], you GIVE IT BACK!”

Yes, my child SCREAMS in her sleep. Not just talks, full out screams, right into my unprotected, unprepared, sleeping ear.

Or better yet, and this happened last night…

[WHACK] a child-sized fist smacks into my cheek. “Bad Daddy,” she says, and I rub my aching mouth.

“You hit me,” I say sleepily.

“No, I didn’t,” she says, still fast asleep, “I hit Daddy.”

“No, you hit ME!”

“Did NOT!”

All this while completely unconscious. In the morning she remembers nothing.

Terrible child…verbally and physically abusive…and yet each night she climbs in, and I sleepily move over, tuck her under the covers, and spend the rest of the night shushing her and ducking flailing limbs.

The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different result. I think I’m certifiable by now.

1 Comment »

  1. kloppenmum Said:

    Co-sleeping is great. Lots of science to support it, and really only societal expectation against it. And your hubby is right, she won’t want to be there forever.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a comment